Python workloads

I am new to Airflow. And loving the tutorials you have on YouTube. Plus your guides are top-notch. Thanks!!!

Taking to heart your comments about keeping heavy-lifting workloads off airflow workers, do you have a reference guide for doing that on AWS? We are contemplating MWAA – 2.0 is imminent. So something that leverages Fargate?

Other choice is to just allow python workloads to run as workers since scale-out is easier, and manage package dependencies with PythonVirtualenvOperator although spotty support is provided

Currently we are using AWS Data pipelines which are dedicated EC2’s running everything we need and we control the environment using AMI’s.

Hey!

Thanks for the post as well as the kind words.

Think there are a few things to consider here!

1. Fargate
    From what we’ve seen, it’s much better to use Fargate as the compute layer rather than the layer you use to actually host airflow. We haven’t had much success running the long lived AF services (schedulers, webservers, etc.) on Fargate due to some weird things around how you’d handle logging and such. Not saying it can’t be done, just not a pattern we’ve seen widely adopted. The other piece to consider with Fargate has to do with the types of workloads you are running; do you expect them to be light, numerous, low SLA workloads (e.g. queries that deliver summary tables to business users) or longer lived workloads (a container running a data science operator)?

2. Python with VirtualEnvOperator