Deploy Airflow via Astro CLI on my personal EC2 instance

Hi I am new to Airflow and have been exploring it via astro-cli.

Thanks for streamlined set-up and detailed tutorials.

I have been looking over the docs and I am unable to find how one can deploy airflow via astro-cli for production on their own server.
With that I mean, I have my own ec2 servers in cloud and I would like to self-host my production code and not by Astronomer platform.

Kindly let me know if that’s possible. If yes, then how?

As of now, I cannot opt for Astronomer hosting until I can do a comparative assessment of effort-reward ratio between self-hosting and astronomer hosting.

Warm regards,
VD

Hey @dusadv

Welcome to the Airflow community! Glad you liked the tutorials.

To answer your question Astro CLI uses Local Executor which is recommended for testing Airflow DAGs locally or in a dev or test environment. We do not recommend using LocalExecutor for Production environment unless you have a handful of DAGs and want to run/test in a temporary Production environment.

For more information about executors, see different available Executors.

If you want to run Astro CLI on a remote machine, all the available Airflow services can be exposed on 0.0.0.0. You can enable or disable this using expose_port setting of Astro CLI. See Configure Astro CLI for details.

Thanks
Manmeet

Thanks @manmeet for the quick reply.

I kind of figured the part about using local executor and running on remote machine. But that would hardly scale.
I was wondering just like native airflow provides roadmap for a full scale production deployment. Imagine dozens of DAG files each executing different ETL tasks moving GBs of data in a single day.

Is there a way to achieve same by astro-cli without using the Astronomer platform? Or are they intrinsically tied together?

Hey @dusadv