Launching custom container with Astro

This might be a stupid question, but I’m new to Airflow and I’ve only gotten Astro working using “astro dev start”, which launches the 4-container instance. I’d like to add a container of my own to the cluster for my DAGs to interact with via custom API listeners I’ve built. Are there instructions for how I can do this? Or where the Docker compose file used under the hood is located? Thanks!

Hey @Phobia42

Welcome to Astronomer Forum and to Airflow.

And no question is stupid :slight_smile:

To answer your question, I would like to understand your use-case properly.

• What service do you want to run in the separate container?
  • Are the DAGs having any trouble interacting with the custom API listeners you have now ?
  • Are you keeping your DAGs in the dags folder currently ?

Astro CLI, automatically creates your Airflow project with dags directory and other required components like include, packages.txt and requirements.txt.

You can keep your DAGs in the dags folder and your extra classes to interact with the custom API listeners in include directory. And then import the extra classes in your DAGs.

You can read this guide for more information: Manage Airflow code | Astronomer Documentation

Hope this helps!

Thanks
Manmeet

Thanks for the reply! I’m trying to make the transition from BA to Data Engineer and working on developing some of the skills I’m missing, such as Airflow (although I’m focusing more on using it than configuring it). I recently completed a POC which takes two Python applications I wrote (one for downloading data via API, and one for loading flat files to a database) and orchestrated by Airflow. The programs are all somewhat complex and self-contained, so just adding them to the “include” folder might not be suitable.